At the recent AGM the 2018/2019 SAC Committee was elected and I am honoured to be able to serve as Chairman for the next 12 months. It gives me great pleasure to introduce the Committee to you;
Chairman Nigel Hopkins
Vice Chairman Barrie Eeles
Secretary Annie Boon
Finance Quintin Hawthorne
Chief Judge/ CIVA Rep John Gaillard
Members: Helm Ludwig, Elton Bondi, Mark Hensman, Gary Glasson, Cliff Lotter
A big thank you must go to the 2017/2018 Committee lead by Chairman Elton Bondi for all the hard work and dedication to the sport of aerobatics. There is no doubt that recreational aviation in SA is faced with mounting difficulties as the country in general is pressured by financial and political stress. Aerobatics is not immune and it is important for us to ensure the Sport remains healthy and importantly fun for all.
SAC 2018/2019 VISION
The Committee has already engaged and there are some good ideas on the table. We plan to look at some introduction to aerobatic days, more fun and inclusive contests around the country and some social and fund raising events. Notwithstanding the current climate we want to make the year ahead fun for all. Our motto for the year is #4theluvofaerobatics. Social media is a great platform for promoting aerobatics so please join us on the SAC FB page. This is for club activities and promotion and not for promoting personal interests. We aim to keep this and the website current and informative. We ask all our members to get involved this year and join in on the fun. Please engage with the committee with your suggestions and ideas.

Another National Championship has come and gone, congratulations to all our National Champions in the respective classes and a big thank you to all the volunteers, organizers, staff, sponsors and pilots for a safe and enjoyable contest. Bloemfontein has become a superb venue for aerobatics, a world class box layout, and excellent facilities. The wind ordered for the contest made for challenging flying conditions and the final day was all but blown away. In all a fun filled contest flown with great sportsmanship and we look forward to the next competition in Klerksdorp.
Full results are available on the website:
National (Unlimited) Champion - Patrick Davidson
Sportsman Champion - Dustin Hughes
Intermediate Champion - Kayle Wooll
Advanced Champion - Gary Glasson
Freestyle Champion - Nigel Hopkins
WAAC 2018 starts in Romania on 15 August 2018. South Africa will be represented by Eugene Du Preez and
Leigh Le Gonidec as well as John Gaillard as Chief Judge, Quintin Hawthorne as Judge and Johnie
Smith as assistant Judge. Good luck to our team and fly the flag high! You can follow the progress at
We look forward to a great year of Aerobatics,
Nigel Hopkins
Sport Aerobatic Club of SA